# Council

## SPECIAL MEETING OF BELFAST CITY COUNCIL

Held in the City Hall and remotely via Microsoft Teams on Saturday, 1st July, 2023 at the hour of 10.45 o'clock a.m., pursuant to Notice.

Members present: The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor (Councillor Murphy)

(Chairperson);

The Deputy Lord Mayor, Councillor Groogan; and

Aldermen Copeland, Lawlor, McCoubrey,

McCullough and Rodgers;

Councillors Anglin, Black, Bower, Bradley, R. Brooks, Bunting, Carson, Cobain, Doherty, M. Donnelly, P. Donnelly, R-M Donnelly, D. Douglas, S. Douglas, Duffy, Flynn,

Garrett, Gormley, Lyons, Maghie,

McCabe, McCormick, McDowell, McKeown, I. McLaughlin, Ó Néill, Verner and Whyte.

## **Summons**

The Chief Executive submitted the summons convening the meeting.

## **Apologies**

Apologies for inability to attend were reported from Councillors T. Brooks, Doran, Ferguson and Kelly.

## **Battle of the Somme Anniversary**

Moved by the Lord Mayor (Councillor Murphy) Seconded by the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Groogan) and

Resolved – That we, the Lord Mayor and Citizens of the City of Belfast, on the 107th Anniversary of the Battle of the Somme, desire again to record our feelings of gratitude to the brave men of the 36th (Ulster) Division, the 16th (Irish) Division and other forces who, by their glorious conduct in that battle, made an imperishable name for themselves and their people and whose heroism will never be forgotten.

The Council stood in silence for one minute as a mark of respect to all those who had lost their lives in the Battle of the Somme.

Lord Mayor Chairperson